Steering Council

DIACC’s Steering Council ensures that Expert Committees operate in strategic and operational alignment with the direction set by the Board of Directors. The Steering Council is comprised of our President and Chairs from Expert Committees.

Meet the Steering Council

Joni Brennan (President)
Digital ID & Authentication Council of Canada (DIACC)
Joni Brennan is President of the DIACC. Building upon 15 years of hands on experience in Identity Access Management innovation, adoption, and industry standards development, Joni helps the DIACC to fulfill its vision delivering a digital identity ecosystem that accelerates the digital economy, grows Canada’s GDP and benefits all Canadians.
Peter Watkins (TFEC Co-Chair)
Executive Director, Technology and Innovation, Office of the Chief Information Officer at the Government of British Columbia.
Executive Director of the BC Developers’ Exchange.
Charles Eckert (TFEC Co-Chair)
National Lead, IAM and Digital Identity at PWC
Working with talented individuals and organizations to achieve their next generation identity goals. I work with organizations to build trust in their customers and employees ranging from digital on-boarding and adaptive authentication through identity governance and privileged access management.
Andrew Johnston (IEC Co-Chair)
Enterprising Technology Strategist at TELUS.
Early adopter of enterprise technologies, with broad experience spanning the commercial software, insurance, banking, telecommunications, advertising and consumer electronics industries.

Specialties: enterprise application architecture, with a focus on identity; technology vision for small enterprise; design and development of email servers, portals, web applications, application integration solutions, message-oriented middleware, mobile applications, and embedded software 
Kevin Morris (OEC Chair)
Strategy & Programs Director at LCUC.
Kevin Morris (M.Sc.) is the Strategy & Programs Director at the Large Credit Union Coalition. He is on the board of the Canadian Association for Studies in Co-operation, as well as the IT advisory group of the International Co-operative Alliance. Kevin has a keen interest in the intersection of Open Banking and Digital ID in Canada and internationally.
Eric Swedersky (OEC Vice-Chair)
SVP Delivery and Public Sector at SecureKey
A proven entrepreneurial leader with a solid background in applied technology and innovation who excels at the successful operationalization of organizational strategy as well as with building and helming high-performance teams. Experience spanning a breadth of industry, financial services, government and non-profit spaces. In plain language – gets the right things done.